Image of the state of Mississippi with Coahoma County darkened in. Image of the words, Coahoma County Sheriff's Office Image of a Coahoma County Sheriff's badge
Home Press Releases Sex Offenders Most Wanted Contact Us
services menu
Civil Process
Crime Tips & Prevention
Emergency Management Agency
Hot Cases
Information & Alerts
School Resource Officer
Crime Tip HOTline 800-222-8477 or Submit Via Email
(662) 624-3085
(24 hours)
Email Map

P.O. Box 1182
1 Justice Drive
Clarksdale, MS 38614

Admin Office Hours:
M-F 8:00am - 5:00pm

Sheriff Mario Magsby   
Term: 2004 - present

History of the Coahoma County Sheriff’s Office


The Coahoma County Sheriff’s Office officially began in 1873 with Sheriff D. F. Alcorn. Since Sheriff Alcorn there has been 34 Sheriff’s elected in CoahomaCounty. Sheriff Charles Jones is the 35 Sheriff of Coahoma County. History shows that there have been two female Sheriff’s, Mrs. Greek P. Rice in 1942 and Mrs. A. H. Gotcher in 1954. Both female Sheriff’s completed the terms that their husbands were unable to fulfill.


Unfortunately, history also shows that there has been one Sheriff and three Sheriff’s Deputies killed in the line of duty.


Sheriff A. H. Gotcher, elected to office in 1952 was killed on Saturday, June 26, 1954. Sheriff Gotcher was shot and killed as he and other Deputies searched a cotton warehouse for a man wanted for murder. The suspect shot Sheriff Gotcher five times when the Sheriff discovered him hiding behind a door. Deputies returned fire killing the suspect. (No picture avaliable)


Deputy Sheriff James Lucas was killed in the line of duty on Friday, January 11, 1901. Deputy Lucas was shot and killed from ambush near Friars Point by a bootlegger. The Deputy had a warrant for the suspect’s arrest, and was on his way to serve the warrant when the suspect shot him. A posse captured the suspect later that day. (No picture available)


Deputy Sheriff Frank Mullen was killed in the line of duty on Wednesday, March 18, 1914. Deputy Mullen was shot and killed at Friars Point by two men he attempted to arrest on a warrant for a minor offense. Both suspects were convicted of first degree murder and hanged on May 22, 1914. (No picture available)


Deputy Sheriff Jerry Wayne Hudgins was killed in the line of duty on Friday, October 19, 2007. Deputy Hudgins was killed in an automobile accident on Stovall Road while responding to a report of suspicious persons at a local grocery store. His patrol car left the roadway and struck a tree as he rounded a curve. (See picture of Deputy Hudgins below)


Pictorial History


Sheriff Andrew S.
Thompson Jr.
Term: 1988 - 2009

Sheriff Jesse D. Bonner
Term: 1980 - 1988

Sheriff Thomas S. Hopkins
Term: 1968-1980

Sheriff Leighton Miller
Term: 1964 - 1968

Sheriff L. A. Ross Jr.
Term: 1960 - 1964

Sheriff Leighton Miller
Term: 1956 - 1960

Sheriff Mrs. A. H. Gotcher
Term: 1954 - 1956

Sheriff A. H. Gotcher
Term: 1952 - 1954

Sheriff Greek P. Rice
Term: 1948 - 1952

Sheriff W. D. Rasberry
Term: 1944 - 1948

Sheriff Mrs. Greek P. Rice
Term: 1942 - 1944

Sheriff Greek P. Rice
Term: 1941 - 1942

Sheriff Tom L. Gibson
Term: 1941

Sheriff Ben R. Lombard
Term: 1940

Sheriff W. L. Matthews
Term: 1936 - 1940

Sheriff L. A. Ross Sr. 
Term: 1932 - 1936

Sheriff W. L. Matthews
Term: 1928 - 1932

Sheriff Dr. S. W. Glass
Term: 1924 - 1928

Sheriff N. A. Cartledge
Term: 1920 - 1924

Sheriff J. C. Baugh
Term: 1916 - 1920

Sheriff W. H Fitzherald
Term: 1912 - 1916

Sheriff J. C. Baugh
Term: 1908 - 1912

Sheriff M. L. Bouldin
Term: 1904 - 1908

Sheriff J. L. Shannon
Term: 1901 - 1904

Sheriff George W. Fogg
Term: 1900 - 1901

Sheriff F. P. Fitzgerald
Term: 1896 - 1900

Sheriff R. N. Harris
Term: 1892 - 1896
Sheriff Em M. Yerger
Term: 1884 - 1892
Sheriff W. A. Alcorn
Term: 1882 - 1884
Sheriff Jackson Fisher
Term: 1872 - 1881 
Sheriff George R. Alcorn
Term: 1877
Sheriff M. S. Alcorn
Term: 1876
Sheriff John Brown
Term: 1874 - 1875
D. F. Alcorn
Term: 1873
Deputy Jerry Wayne
Killed in the line of Duty


     Coahoma County Sheriff's Office | © 2024
     Coahoma County, Mississippi